big news

I haven’t been blogging much lately.  There’s a reason for that.

.

.

.

I’m pregnant.

🙂

I’m at the end of my first trimester, and while everything has been going fine, I’ve been extremely tired.  I’ve also had lots of food aversions, which have made deciding what to make for meals most difficult.  Thankfully, Downton Abbey has gotten me through many a meal prep and a meal consumption.  If I don’t have to think about what I’m doing – or eating – then it doesn’t bother me as much.

Lyd and Jujubee are very excited.  We told them at Christmas, as one of their last Christmas presents.  JJ and I wish we would have thought to have the video camera ready to capture the moment, as Lyd’s response in particular was quite dramatic.  They’re both delighted, and we have all agreed as a family that we don’t care if the new baby is a boy or a girl; God will send us just the right baby for our family.  I’m so glad I don’t have to decide the gender of the new baby!  I don’t know how I’d ever choose.  🙂

While I haven’t been blogging here much, I started a pregnancy blog to document my pregnancy.  If you’re interested in that blog, please feel free to email me for the address.  I plan to keep most of my pregnancy-specific talk on that blog.

I had an ultrasound yesterday and got to see how much the baby has grown.  It was amazing to see the little one waving arms around and kicking legs – and then realize that its crown-to-rump length is only 4.7 cm!  After I got home, I drew a line 4.7 cm long on a piece of paper, drew a circle for the head and a circle for the abdomen on the line, added little stick arms and legs, and held it up to my belly.  Yup, that’s still a pretty small baby, although it’s right on target for its age.

I’ve got a long way to go yet until the end of August, but so far everything is going well, and I’m thankful for that.  This pregnancy has been a long time in coming.  I’ve prayed and waited and prayed and waited for this baby for a long time.  It was a wonderful early Christmas present to discover that I was pregnant, and now that the baby has made it this far, it seems pretty likely that I’ll have a new baby by the end of the summer.  What a blessing that will be to our family!

3 thoughts on “big news

  1. Congratulations, Emily!! What a wonderful answer to your prayers!!! I will continue to keep you and baby in my prayers for a healthy pregnancy and delivery. It sounds like your timing is almost the same as my pregnancy with Greta last year!! I would love to have your pregnancy blog address so I can follow you over the coming months.

  2. Yay! I’m so very happy for you & your family. So exciting- especially after all the waiting and praying!! I’d love to follow your blog, too. Congratulations!

  3. So glad to hear you and baby are doing well!! Fingers are crossed that your food aversions end soon but it seems you’ve found a good way to cope. It would be fun to hear about your pregnancy journey via your blog. Count me in!
    Sending a big hug to the 5 of you.

Comments are closed.