black bean and pumpkin chili

I originally posted this recipe to my blog back in March ’09 on a cold, rainy day.  Not surprisingly, I made this recipe again last week on another cold, rainy day.  We ate up the leftovers today on a sunshine-filled day, and it was still good!

Black Bean ‘n’ Pumpkin Chili
(from Taste of Home magazine)

1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium sweet yellow pepper, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced (I used more)
2 Tbsp. olive oil
3 C. chicken broth
2 cans (15 oz each) black beans, rinsed and drained
2 1/2 C. cubed cooked turkey (I used 2 C.)
1 can (15 oz) solid-pack pumpkin
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained (consider dicing them further if your kids are picky)
2 tsp. dried parsley flakes
2 tsp. chili powder (I used 1 tsp.)
1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano (I used a little less of this, too)
1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin (and less of this as well)
1/2 tsp. salt

In a large skillet, saute the onion, yellow pepper and garlic in oil until tender.  Transfer to a 5-qt. slow cooker; stir in the remaining ingredients.  Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours or until heated through.  Makes 10 servings (2.5 quarts).