honey-mustard chicken with roasted new potatoes

I found this recipe in our local newspaper, tried it, and we all loved it!  Jujubee kept eating the chicken and saying “Mmm!” after every bite.  It was pretty cute. 🙂

Honey-Mustard Chicken with Roasted New Potatoes

  • 4 (6-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I used bone-in chicken thighs, and skinned them myself)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt, divided
  • coarsely ground black pepper (I used regular pepper)
  • 4 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 minced shallot (I used a green onion)
  • 1 Tbsp. minced fresh thyme leaves or 1/2 tsp dried thyme (I used dried)
  • 1 pound small red potatoes, cut into halves
  • olive oil cooking spray (I used actual olive oil) 
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Sprinkle chicken thighs with 1/4 tsp salt and pepper.  Place in a 13×9-inch baking dish.  Combine mustard, honey, shallot and thyme in a small bowl to form a paste.  Spread over thighs, covering them completely.
  3. Add potatoes to the pan and sprits with olive oil spray.  Sprinkle potatoes with 1/4 tsp salt and pepper.  (I combined potatoes, about 2 Tsp olive oil, salt and pepper in a bowl, mixed thoroughly, and then added the potatoes to the pan.)
  4. Bake about 50 minutes, stirring potatoes once, until potatoes and chicken are tender.  Serves 4.     ~ Recipe by Greg Patent.  (Thanks, Greg, whoever you are!)

I did six chicken breasts rather than four, increased everything a little bit, and it worked out just fine.  Delicious!